10.15.14 | 14 years plus 10 more

Post 653: 288/365

Fourteen years ago today I got married. Fourteen years ago tomorrow I set off on my honeymoon – a two week trip starting in Venice, Italy where we then drove (guess who did the driving…!) to Florence, and then to Rome, and then flew to Paris, spending a few days in each city.

At the time of our trip, it had been 10 years since I had last been in Italy when I spent the first semester of my fourth year of college living in Rome and studying architecture.

Instead of posting a photo from today I decided to post a very special photo that I took when my parents came to visit me during my semester in Rome. I took this photo from the Campanile that is adjacent to the Duomo in Florence. Since I had already been to the top of the church during a previous trip, I had my parents climb to the top of the dome while I climbed to the top of the tower to see if I could see them from one building to the next.

It turned out I could – that’s them waving to me.

4 comments

  1. A lovely image from a beautiful city. I tried to enlarge the photo so I might make out their features but I couldn’t do it but their waving was definitely distinct. I waved back…

    1. Yeah, it’s not the best photo since it’s from so far away, but I think it’s so cool how they are clearly two people waving at me which makes them stand out. And once you know that, you can kind of tell the one on the left is my dad and the one on the right is my mom. Now I want to go back!

Leave a Reply

