03.06.16 | tymflyzPost 1,161: 66/366

Deeeeep breath…. It’s all over. I can finally have my life back…

Let me explain.

I volunteered to be the coach of my son’s Odyssey of the Mind team this year. This was his fifth year participating in it and I felt it was time for me to step up and be the coach. I thought, “How hard can it be?” Famous last words… It ended up being extremely challenging, not only to get all the kids to focus each week and not spend our meetings chasing each other around with anything that looked like a sword, but also solving the problem, building a vehicle that would run without pedal power, and incorporating it into an 8 minute skit where the vehicle picks up, adapts and delivers 3 different discarded items to various ecosystems. Sounds confusing? Welcome to my life for the past 5 months!

But seriously, I really enjoyed being their coach. It was certainly a challenge, and it took up a lot of my time and energy (and brain power) but I was so proud of them at yesterday’s competition. They didn’t win anything, far from it, but their worked really well together and were cool under pressure when their vehicle stopped working and were able to solve their problems and finish their skit under the time limit.

Now that it is over, I’ve asked myself if I would do it again, and I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I think I would. Next year, though, I will make sure the team chooses a less technical problem.

4 comments

  1. Congrats and kudos to you! My son was in Odyssey of the Mind when he was in kindergarten and I went to every meeting with him. I have to give it to the coaches. I don’t know if the rules are the same today as when my son was in, but the kids had to do everything on their own from picking a theme, to writing the script to designing the set and picking out costume, with very little help from the coaches and parents. We could nudge and ask them questions to get them going. It was amazing to watch them try to figure out how they wanted to get their message across. I think that it’s great that you want to do it again. Good luck next year.

    1. Thanks. It was SUCH a challenge. I’m going to wait and see how interested my son is next year before making the commitment. And if he does decide to do it again next year I’m going to make sure his team chooses a less challenging problem to tackle!

Leave a Reply

