03.10.16 | arrow of lightPost 1,165: 70/366

My son started cub scouts in 2nd grade. He started a year late (he missed the Tiger year) but he stuck with it through Bear, Wolf and Webelos 1 and 2. He won numerous Pinewood Derby races, made it to the regional competition 3 years in a row, and stood outside various grocery stores selling overpriced popcorn. Last night he received his Arrow of Light award along with the rest of his pack, and crossed over to become a Boy Scout. My little boy is growing up and it makes me both happy and sad at the same time.

3 comments

  1. Congratulations to him! I do hope that he stays in Boy scouts. Once he passes this point, it is hard to keep the boys in because they all start going their different directions. But they learn so much and can form great friendships. I wish my boys had stayed in. They stayed in a couple of years of boy scouts. Getting into a good group with great leaders can also make a big difference. I wish him all the best!

    1. It looks like he’s not going to continue. 😦 He tried going to a few boy scout meetings but just didn’t connect with the other boys in the same way he did with the cub scouts. He might try again in the fall, but I’m pretty sure he’s finished.

      1. Aw, that’s too bad. But I do know it is a struggle for a lot of boys going into boy scouts. Being the younger ones, sometimes the older boys don’t make it easy. I’m sure he will find something else that interests him.

Leave a Reply

