12.18.16 | a delicious traditionPost 1,448: 353/366

When I was growing up, my mom would make cut-out Christmas cookies every year. She would spend a day mixing, rolling, cutting, and baking them, and then we would all assemble at the dining room table to decorate them. My brother and I were given the tops of our TV trays to contain the sprinkly mess, and there were always large sheets of waxed paper covering the rest of the table. She would make frosting in 3 colors and then she and my dad would do the frosting while my brother and I covered them with red hots. I’ve tried doing this with my family, but it’s never the same. My cookies are not as delicious. My frosting isn’t as good. I’m not consistent with doing it every year… Some things will have to remain a special memory for me as I continue to create new traditions for my children. Or maybe I’m being too hard on myself since the kids didn’t complain at all about the decorating experience or about how these tasted.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

1 comment

Leave a Reply

